Ask the Judge, 06/28/2006
Rules Tip of the Day: All card with the printed card type 'Interrupt' are now instants. Any reference to interrupts in a card's text now refers to instants instead.
Q: I have both a Blood Funnel and Dovescape in play. I realize that Dovescape still makes tokens even if Dovescape doesn't counter the spell, but what happens when something in play lowers the cost of a spell? If I cast a Seal of Doom, which has a printed cost of "2B" but is reduced to "B" from the Blood Funnel, how many tokens come into play?
A: You will get three tokens in this example. Dovescape's ability does not care about what you pay when you play a spell that triggers its ability; it cares about the converted mana cost of the spell. In this case, the converted mana cost of Seal of Doom is three; it doesn't matter that you only paid one mana.
A: No. Transmute is an activated ability. You can only use the mana from a Pillar of the Paruns to play a multi-colored spell. It does not matter if the card is multi-colored, or that the activation cost of this ability is multi-colored.
Q: Do artifacts count as monocolored for Guardian of the Guildpact's purposes?
A: No. Artifacts are colorless and are neither monocolored nor multicolored. An artifact creature can block a creature that has protection from monocolored.
Q: My opponent controls a Dread Slag, and he has one card in his hand, so the Slag is a 5/5. I play Graven Dominator. When the Dominator's comes-into-play triggered ability resolves, will the Slag live? Or will it be a 1/1?
A: The Dread Slag will not survive in this situation. This is because the effect from the Graven Dominator is applied before the Slag's own power- and toughness-lowering effect. (For the rules gurus out there, the effect from the Dominator is applied in layer 6b, and the effect from the Slag's static ability is applied in 6d. See section 418.5 of the comprehensive rules for more information.) So the Dominator will make the Slag a 1/1, and the Slag's own ability will lower this to -3/-3.
A: Yes, it will. Panoptic Mirror's ability makes a copy of the imprinted instant or sorcery and you are given the option of playing this copy. As you are actually playing a spell—as opposed to putting a copy directly on the stack—Tidespout Tyrant's ability will trigger.
Q: I have a Doubling Season in play, and I attack with Gemini Engine. I understand that I would get two tokens. Do both tokens get sacrificed at the end of combat, or do I keep one since it is only asking for one sacrifice.
A: You will sacrifice both of the attacking Twin tokens at the end of combat. The ability may refer use the singular pronoun, but it really means any token that is produced by the ability. It uses the singular as in the vast majority of situations only one token creature will be created.
A: No, the copies generated by Followed Footsteps will not copy any effects, enchantments, or equipment that have been applied to the original. If they did, they would also copy the Followed Footsteps as well, and the number of copies you get would increase exponentially each turn. The token copies will be normal, unenchanted versions of the Belltower Sphinx.
Q: Does Glacial Chasm's effect trigger during damage assignment, or on damage being dealt?
A: First of all, Glacial Chasm does not have a triggered ability; it has a static ability. This static ability generates a prevention effect that is applied when damage would be dealt to you, not when damage is assigned.