Ask The Judge: 3/28/01
Q: There is a Warped Devotion in play. I cast Repulse on my own creature. What happens first -- Do I draw a card from the Repulse, or discard a card from the Devotion?
A: You draw a card from Repulse. The draw is part of the resolution of the spell, which is treated by the game as a single indivisible action (413); Warped Devotion is a trigger that can't go on the stack until after the Repulse has resolved (410).
I was recently playing in an Extended tourney at my local store. In the second round, I was playing against a Sligh player. I was at four life. He casts Raging Goblin, no response, and then casts Reckless Abandon. Could I, in response, Incinerate the goblin and counter the spell?
Thanks in advance,
- Jesse D.
No. Sacrificing the creature (in this case, the Golbin) is a cost of playing Reckless Abandon. That means it's paid during the announcement of the spell (409.1f), which is before you have priority to add your Incinerate (or whatever) to the stack.
Samite Ministration might be okay against that Sligh player, though...
Q: I have a Chimeric Idol and I make him a creature. Then my opponent plays a Dominate on it; since the mana cost of Dominate is 1UUX, how many does X need to be?
A: X is 3, which is the Converted Mana Cost of Chimeric Idol.
Q: If Chill is in play, and a non-Red spell is announced, can the Blind Seer's ability increase the cost of the spell (by changing its color to Red) or is the cost set upon announcement? Conversely, can the Seer circumvent the "additional cost" created by the continuous effect of multiple Chills (counteracting a single Chill would be a punt, n'est ce pas? as the Seer's activation cost is equal to the extra imposed by a single Chill....)?
A: This type of thing is one of the reasons we did away with Interrupts. The player puts the non-red spell on the stack and pays its costs during announcement (409.1f). Once costs are paid, an effect adding additional costs is irrelevant. Conversely, the Seer can't help get around Chill, et al, for the same reason.
Q: Certain spells, like Stupor, specific a "target opponent." Can Deflection or Misdirection retarget such a spell to its caster?
A: You choose the spell that you're targeting with Deflection/Misdirection on announcement, but you choose that spell's new target on resolution. If there's no other legal target for the spell, Deflection/Misdirection does not change the target. 415.2 says that the target of a spell or ability can change only to a legal target. That means you can target Stupor with a Misdirection; when the Misdirection resolves, it will find that (unless you're playing multiplayer) it can't do what it wants to, since there's only one "opponent" at the table. Another "player," however, may be a different matter.
Q: I read, at the Meridian "Judge" site, that a disenchanted Yawgmoth's Agenda is removed from the game when it "goes to the graveyard." This is an error, is it not? Once Disenchanted, the continuous effects generated by the Agenda are ended and it simply goes into the graveyard upon resolution, correct?
A: The ruling is correct and consistent with 410.10d and 413.2b. When resolving the Disenchant, you follow all its instructions in order (although it has only one). As far as the game is concerned, while you're resolving Disenchant, the Agenda's effect is still active. The game doesn't know to stop removing cards from the game instead of putting them into your graveyard until after the Will has already been removed.
Q: I've never played Yawgmoth's Will correctly. If I understand your previous responses, the card is "put into the graveyard" upon resolution. This would mean that the "removed from game until end of turn" effect would apply to the Will when it "went to the graveyard" and instead it would be removed from the game, correct?
A: The Will was reworded in the errata: "Until end of turn, you may play cards in your graveyard as though they were in your hand; if a card would be put in your graveyard this turn, remove that card from the game instead." The Will removes itself from the game because it goes to the graveyard after its effect starts (413.2).