Ask the Judge, 11/20/2007
Rules Tip of the Day: Creature and tribal cards with Changeling only have all available creature subtypes. They do not have the subtypes associated with other card types, like Arcane, Shrine, or the basic land subtypes.
Q: How does Banding interact with planeswalkers? For example: I have a Benalish Hero, a Mesa Pegasus, and a Grizzly Bears in play. My opponent has Jace Beleren and a Phantom Monster. If I put my creatures in a band, can I still say that the Mesa Pegasus is attacking Jace, and the Bears are attacking my opponent? Or does the entire band have to attack the same player/planeswalker?
A: When the rules for Planeswalkers were added to the comprehensive rules, the rules for Banding received a bit of a tweak as well [Though we're not sure why they bothered... -Seamus]. They now specifically state that all creatures that are banded together must attack the same player or planeswalker. So the three creatures in this attacking band must attack your opponent or the Jace controlled by your opponent, you cannot split them up.
Q: How does Consuming Bonfire affect creatures with Changling? I tried killing a Shapeshifter in a tournament, and was told I could not use the Consuming Bonfire to target an Elemental. But shouldn't I be able to use the second portion of the card, target the Shapeshifter as a Treefolk, and deal 7 damage to the Shapeshifter?
A: Yes, that works. Consuming Bonfire has two modes: one that cannot target an Elemental, and one that can. When you play a spell, you choose the mode before you choose the target. So you can choose to play Consuming Bonfire, choose the second mode, and target a creature with Changeling in order to deal seven damage to it.
Q: I control an Island and a planeswalker. If my opponent attacks my planeswalker with a creature that has islandwalk, can my creatures still jump in front of my planeswalker to defend it?
A: No, they cannot. Creatures with a landwalk ability are unblockable as long as the defending player controls a land with appropriate type. While this creature is attacking your planewsalker, you are still the defending player, so it will be unblockable.
A: No, it will not. When the Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies an object, it does not copy any effects (other than copy effects) that have been applied to that object.
A: You will not gain any life. Wanderwine Hub is a land and, therefore, colorless; it is not blue or white. Also, when you play a land, you not playing a spell, so even if it were blue or white, the abilities of Kraken's Eye and Angel's Feather would not trigger.
Q: Can I Suspend an instant in response to a Split Second card?
A: No. You can only Suspend cards when you could play them. Because the Split Second ability on the stack is preventing you from playing cards, you will not be able to Suspend anything. Also, there are currently no cards with Suspend that are instants, so you cannot suspend a card when another spell is on the stack anyway.
Q: Can Spellshift target itself?
A: No, spells cannot target themselves.
Q: My wife tapped her Tidewater Minion, equipped with Whispersilk Cloak, to untap a Paladin of Prahv. Can I use Azorius Guildmage's counter ability to prevent her from untapping the Paladin, even with the Whispersilk Cloak equipped to her Tidewater?
A: Yes. The equipped Tidewater Minion cannot be targeted, but Azorious Guildmage's ability is not targeting the Minion; it is targeting an ability on the stack. The fact that the Minion is the source of this ability does not matter. You may not be able to target the Minion, but you can target its abilities.
A: No. The value of X for this copy will be the same as the original. Also, you do not pay any costs when this copy is put on the stack, so no additional life is paid.
Q: In a chaos multiplayer game, if a player controlling an Oblivion Ring is eliminated from the game, does the Ring still return the removed card to play? Or does the elimination of the player prevent that ability from applying, leaving the card removed indefinitely?
A: When a player leaves the game in a multiplayer game, all objects they own leave the game. This will trigger relevant abilities of permanents they control. So yes, the permanent that was removed from the game by Oblivion Ring's comes-into-play ability will be returned to play when the controller of the Oblivion Ring leaves the game.