Ask the Judge, 12/5/2007
Rules Tip of the Day: Effects that set the characteristics of other permanents are not characteristic-defining abilities, as these effects are applied to other objects. Only those abilities that state that just the object with the ability "is" or "has" a certain characteristic are characteristic-defining abilities.
A: No. The effect from Meekstone's ability is applied in the untap step of a turn. No one receives priority at that time, so there is not way to respond to the application of that effect.
A: The Battlewand Oak will become a 6/2 creature. When you play Nameless Inversion, the Oak's ability will trigger and go on the stack on top of Nameless Inversion. When this trigger resolves, the Oak will become a 3/5 creature. Then Nameless Inversion will resolve and make the Oak a 6/2 creature.
A: Yes, you can respond to the Evoke trigger by activating Brion's ability and sacrificing the Evoked Mulldrifter.
Q: Cairn Wanderer says that if you have a creature with flying in your graveyard it gets a bunch of different abilities, one of these being "protection." But what does it get protection from? The color of the card that has flying in your graveyard? Everything?
A: You have misinterpreted the card. In the example given, Cairn Wanderer will only have flying. It will get a protection ability if there is a creature with protection in your graveyard. When it says 'the same is true', it means that Cairn Wanderer will gain the listed ability if there is a card with that ability in your graveyard. With respect to protection, Cairn Wanderer will gain the protection abilities of the cards in your graveyard.
Q: How come the interactions with cards from Muse Vessel and the Hideaway lands are completely different? Muse Vessel and Hideaway lands both state "you may play the card this turn" and "you may play the removed card without paying it's mana cost." The only qualifiers are, for Muse Vessel, the card having been removed from the game, and restricted to that turn, and for Hideaway, that you meet the criteria of the particular land. Yet cards removed with Muse Vessel are restricted to being played only when the card is legally able to be played (despite this not appearing specifically in the ability), and the Hideaway lands can be played anytime you meet the criteria, correct? Both cards are simply telling you under what conditions you may play the card, and neither has any written restriction the other one doesn't in terms of legality.
A: Muse Vessel's ability gives a time limit, the Hideaway lands do not. Because the Hideaway lands do not give a duration for when you can play the card, they mean you can play the removed card only as the associated activated ability is resolving. Because you cannot normally play anything when another spell or ability is resolving, the Hideaway activated abilities allow you to bend the timing restrictions on when these cards can be played.
A: The Oblivion Ring spell is not countered, but its comes-into-play ability will be. In other words, the Oblivion Rind will enter play and stay there, even if it does not remove anything from the game.
Q: If a Mulldrifter is in play with a mannequin counter on it from Makeshift Mannequin (Let's say Mulldrifter) and I also have an Adarkar Valkyrie in play, can I resolve the Valkyrie's ability if I target the Mulldrifter?
A: No. The triggered ability that was given to this Mannequin'd Mulldrifter will trigger and go on top of the Valkyrie's ability. This trigger will resolve first and cause you to sacrifice the Mulldrifter before the Valkyrie ability resolves. When it tries to resolve, the Valkyrie ability will be countered on resolution as its target is not legal.
Q: I have an Experiment Kraj and a Mischievous Quanar with a +1/+1 counter on it in play. Unless I'm mistaken, Kraj gains the ability to turn itself face-down. The Kraj can't use the triggered ability when turning face-up, but is it even possible to pay to flip it back up?
A: No. Once it turns face down, it will become a 2/2 creature without any abilities. It does not have a Morph cost, so unless you use something like Ixidor, Reality Sculptor, it will remain face down.
A: Yes. All permanents will enter play as artifacts, so the Crusher's ability will trigger, even those that enter play under your opponent's control.