Ask the Judge, 11/4/2008
Rules Tip of the Day: Creatures do not tap when a regeneration shield is created. They tap if this shield is later used when the creature would be destroyed.
Q: I have Cradle of Vitality and Goldenglow Moth in play. Can I trigger the Cradle of Vitality when I assign Goldenglow Moth as a blocker or does the Moth's effect occur after damage has resolved from blocking?
A: Goldenglow Moth's ability triggers when it becomes a blocker. This ability will resolve and cause Cradle of Vitality's ability to trigger and resolve before the combat damage step. This means you can block with a 0/1 Moth and end up with a 4/5 at the beginning of the combat damage step so it will deal four points of damage.
Q: I play the cycling ability of Resounding Thunder then pay for Rings of Brighthearth to copy it. I already know that I'm gonna draw two cards instead of one but how much damage can I deal: six or twelve?
A: Rings of Brighthearth's ability will only copy the cycling activated. Resounding Thunder's ability that triggers when you cycle the card is not copied so you will only deal six points of damage to one target.
A: Yes. In your library the X in the mana cost of spells is treated as zero. This means that the converted mana cost of the Feral Hydra card in your library is one.
Q: My opponent has a creature in play; I have a Prison Term attached to it. On his turn he plays a creature with devour and chooses said creature. When he plays his creature both abilties trigger but since he is the active player the devour ability goes on the stack first and then my Prison Term follows it. As the effects resolve my Term is moved to his devour creature and then the creature that it was on is sacrificed for devour correct?
A: What you have described is not what will happen. Devour is not a triggered ability and it does not use the stack at all. It is a static ability that generates a replacement effect. This effect is applied as this creature enters play. He can sacrifice the creature with the Prison Term attached as it comes into play and before Prison Term's ability triggers.
A: Four as Manaplasm's ability will resolve before the Soul's Fire does. Then when Soul's Fire resolves it will have your Manaplasm deal damage equal to its current power to the other targeted creature.
A: No Cruel Ultimatum targets an opponent and in a two-player game that would be you. As you have protection from the card it cannot be played at all.
A: No. The spell Oblivion Ring does not target anything; its comes-into-play ability does. This ability cannot have its target changed by Swerve. When the Oblivion Ring spell resolves this abiltiy triggers and goes on the stack. The target of this ability is chosen at this point.
Q: I have a Raking Canopy in play and I play Shimmering Wings targeting my opponent's Grizzly Bears and pass the turn. The bear attacks and triggers Raking Canopy's ability. Can I return the Shimmering Wings to my hand? And if so will the creature still receive 4 points of damage
A: Yes and yes. The fact that it no longer has flying does not matter. Raking Canopy's ability triggers when a creature with flying attacks you. The ability will resolve and deal four points of damage to this creature even if it loses flying.
Q: If a Darksteel Colossus recieves lethal damage can it be killed by giving it -3/-3?
A: No. In this example it would be an 8/8 creature with 11 points of damage on it. This is lethal damage not having its toughness lowered to zero so it will remain in play as it cannot be destroyed by receiving lethal damage.
Q: Can I use two copies of Paralyze on a single target to force the owner to pay eight mana to untap?
A: No even though it has two Paralyzes attached to it he'll only have to pay four to untap it. The ability of each Paralyze will trigger at the beginning of its controller's upkeep. When either of these resolves the controller of this creature can just pay four mana to untap it.