Ask the Judge, 06/30/2005
Rules Tip of the Day: When the rules text of a permanent in play refers to itself by name it means "this permanent" and not other cards with that name.
Q: If an opponent gains control of my Homura, Human Ascendant and then it goes to my graveyard, who has control of the enchantment when it comes back ?
A: Your opponent will. He is the controller of Homura's leaves play triggered ability as he controlled it when it left play. This means that Homura's Essence will be put into play under his control.
Q: Player A plays Beacon of Creation. Player B plays Spectral Shift targeting the Beacon, changing "Forest" to "Island." After that resolves, he plays Twincast, copying the Beacon. Does the copied Beacon create tokens for each Forest or Island the Player B controls?
A: The copy of Beacon of Creation created by Twincast will count the number of Forests that the controller of copy Beacon controls. This is because effects that make copies of other objects do not copy other non-copy effects that are applied to the original.
Q: I have Goblin Artisans in play, and I play Sakashima, the Impostor copying the Artisans. Next turn, I play an artifact spell. Can I use both Sakashima and the Artisans, targeting the same spell? As far as I can tell, it boils down to whether Sakashima copies his own name in the ability text. Does he, and if so can I in fact target one artifact with both abilities?
A: The text on Sakashima will refer to other creatures named "Goblin Artisans" and not "Sakashia, the Imposter." The reason is that in that in this instance the use of the words "Goblin Artisans" on the original card is not referring to the card it is on, but to other creatures with that name. Because of this you won't be able to target a single artifact spell you control with both of these abilities.
A: No. You cannot play Reciprocate and target a creature that has not damaged you that turn. That is a targeting restriction and it must be met when played.
Q: If I play Thicket Elemental with Kicker and I get a creature that has Kicker, can I activate the Kicker of the creature the Thicket Elemental brought in?
A: No. The creature that is put into play by Thicket Elemental's ability is just put into play, it is not played. And because you are only given the option of paying Kicker costs when you play a Kicker spell, you won’t be able to pay that cost in this situation.
A: Yes, you will have to "mill" cards, you just won't do it in the untap step. Permanents with Phasing that you control will phase in just a the beginning of the untap step before you untap your permanents. This means that the Orb will be in play when you untap and its ability will trigger. These triggered abilities will then wait until the beginning of your upkeep to go on the stack, as no player receives priority in the untap step.
Q: If Crumbling Sanctuary is in play, does the life my opponent pays as Phyrexian Processor comes into play come off his life total or his library? What if I play Soul Feast; is it life total or library?
A: In both instances his life total will be lowered. Crumbling Sanctuary replaces what happens when a player would be dealt damage. It does not affect loss of life or the payment of life points.
Q: What happens if a game altering triggered ability goes unnoticed, and unresolved until a few turns have passed? Specifically, at Regionals, in game 3, turn four of extra time against my opponent, my Sundering Titan was destroyed by Oblivion Stone. We forgot about his triggered ability, and in the subsequent, and final turn of the game, my opponent played Rude Awakening to deal exact lethal damage to me. Had we remembered to resolve the Titan's ability, he wouldn't have been able to kill me and we would have drawn. Would calling the judge over have given me the draw, or would I get a warning for misrepresentation or something similar?
A: As both you are your opponent neglected to deal with this triggered ability, I would have given both of you a warning for Procedural Error - Major. However the game state would not be changed and I would let it remain as it was.