Ask the Judge, 11/8/2007
Rules Tip of the Day: A permanent cannot have the same subtype more than once. Applying the effect from Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth to a land that is already a Swamp will not do anything.
Q: I have Colfernor's Urn in play. I cast a Groundbreaker, and attack with it. It is unblocked, and I play Giant Growth on it to attack for nine. At the end of the turn, when Groundbreaker is sacrificed, can it go into the Colfenor's Urn?
A: Yes, the Groundbreaker's toughness is four when it goes to the graveyard from play, so Colfenor's Urn's triggered ability will trigger and remove it from the game.
Q: If I use Beacon of Unrest or Makeshift Mannequin to return an Evoke creature like Shriekmaw to play, can I return it using its Evoke cost? The reason is that I want it to die after returning it to play to abuse effects like Enduring Renewal.
A: No. The Evoke cost is something that can be paid when you play the Evoke card. Beacon of Unrest and Makeshift Mannequin both put the targeted card into play without playing it. Because you are not playing it, you cannot pay the Evoke cost at all. Also, many effects that allow you to play a card from a zone other than from your hand make playing it free. In these instances you cannot play anything, so you can't pay the Evoke cost, even though you are playing the spell.
A: Yes. The source of the continuous effect generated by the original and the copy made by Rings of Brighhearth is the same Vedalken Shackles. Both of these effects will look at this Shackles to determine when they end. When this Shackles becomes untapped, both effects will end, and you will lose control of both creatures.
Q: If I use an Elvish Branchbender to animate a Forest, is that Forest's P/T set to be the number of Elves I control on resolution, or does it have a characteristic-defining effect that continuously updates as more Elves enter or leave play?
A: The power and toughness of this Forest Treefolk will be determined just once, when the ability resolves. Even if you gain control of more Elves, this will not change. Effects created by the resolution of a spell or ability that need to use information about the game state do so when the spell or ability resolves. The Branchbender's effect is what sets the power and toughnesss of this permanent, it does not give an ability to the targeted land.
A: Yes. Each time that non-combat damage would be dealt by a source you control to your opponent, you can choose whether it will be dealt to your opponent or to a planeswalker they control. A Glacial Ray with another Glacial Ray Spliced onto it does not deal four points of damage all at once; it deals two points of damage and then another two points of damage. Each time this spell deals two points of damage to your opponent, you can choose whether or not to have it redirected to his planewalker.
A: No. The Reejerey's ability ability triggers when you play a Merfolk spell, not when a Merfolk comes into play. In this example, the Reejerey's ability will trigger just once, when you play Summon the School. This triggered ability will go on the stack on top of Summon the School, and it will resolve first. Nothing additional will happen when it resolves and the two Merfolk Wizard tokens are put into play.
Q: I play Sower of Temptation, nabbng my opponent's Changeling Titan. What happens if the Changeling Titan is put into the graveyard while under my control? Do I get the card that was Championed with Changeling Titan?
A: No, when a Champion creature leaves play, the creature that was Championed will be returned to play under the control of its owner, not the controller of the creature with Champion when it left play.
Q: Can you counter a spell with Familiar's Ruse if you don't have a creature in play?
A: No, you cannot play the spell if you cannot pay all of the costs to play it.
Q: If I have two or more copies of Forced Fruition in play, and an opponent plays a spell, will they draw seven cards for each copy of Forced Fruition?
A: Correct. The ability of each Forced Fruition will trigger independently and resolve separately when your opponent plays a spell.