Ask the Judge, 11/11/2008
Rules Tip of the Day: Permanents that are sacrificed cannot be regenerated. Regeneration creates a replacement effect that changes what would happen when a permanent would be destroyed. When a permanent is sacrificed, it is not destroyed, so a regeneration shield has nothing to replace.
Q: I have Vein Drinker and Fatestitcher in play. My opponent has two Woolly Thoctars in play. I activate Vein Drinker, targeting a Thoctar, and then in response I untap and activate the Vein Drinker targeting the other Woolly Thoctar. Does this kill both Thoctars?
A: Yes, it will. If Vein Drinker is not in play when its ability resolves, the game will use last-known information about Vein Drinker when resolving. This means that when the ability that is on top of the stack resolves, the Vein Drinker and one targeted Thoctar will receive lethal damage. After this ability resolves, both of these creatures will go to the graveyard. Then the other Vein Drinker ability will resolve, and the other Thoctar will be dealt lethal damage.
A: No, Infest does not target anything. It affects creatures you control, but that does not mean it targets them in any way.
Q: I have Rhys the Redeemed and Saproling Burst in play. If I copy Saproling tokens that are in play using Rhys, will the copies' power and toughness stay at whatever they where when I copied them, or will it change when fading counters are removed from Saproling Burst?
A: These copies will be exact copies, and will have their power and toughness determined by the number of fate counters on Saproling Burst.
A: Yes. As you pointed out, Lashknife Barrier's static ability generates a replacement effect, not a prevention one. Because this ability does not prevent damage, the effect from it will be applied even when Everlasting Torment is in play.
Q: How do cards like Enchanted Being, Brainspoil, Cut the Earthly Bond, etc, interact with equipment when Enchanted Evening is in play? Both Auras and Equipment are "attached" to a creature, so if an Artifact - Equipment gains the Enchantment type, is the creature considered enchanted?
A: No. Objects in play that have Auras attached to them are enchanted. Enchanted Evening makes equipment into an enchantment, but it does not make it into an Aura.
Q: After switching the power and toughness on Phantasmal Fiend, how does it's ability that gives it +1/-1 interact with it?
A: All switch effects are applied last, so you apply all +1/-1 effects first and then the switch effect. This is true even if the switch effect resolves before the +1/-1 effect.
A: Yes. At the end of combat, when Wall of Nets' triggered ability goes on the stack, you can play Momentary Blink. The Wall will leave play and then return as a new object. Then, when the end of combat triggered ability resolves, the blocked creatures will be removed from the game and cannot be returned, as the Wall in play is not the same one that removed those creatures from play.
A: Yes, Time Vault's ability prevents it from untapping in your untap step, not other players' untap steps.
Q: When playing Abduction, does the creature have to be tapped before you can gain control of it?
A: No. The word 'untap' is an instruction to untap the enchanted creature when Abduction's comes-into-play ability resolves; it is not a targeting restriction.