Ask the Judge, 06/29/2006
Not Quite a Rules Tip of the Day: If you have a cell phone, put your DCI number into it. Just make an entry in your address book for yourself. It's a lot easier to keep track of your DCI number this way.
Q: I have a question about what you can name with Brain Pry. It has happened to me several times that all I wanted out of it was to draw a card. Can you name cards that don't exist? If not, can you name a card that is not tournament legal when playing in a tournament, or otherwise name an actual card your opponent couldn't legally be using? Can I name Black Lotus in a Ravnica block tournament)
A: When instructed to name a Magic card, you must chose one that actually exists; you cannot make up one. However, as you suggested, you can name one that is not legal for the format. If you do, then you are guaranteed to draw a card, rather than making your opponent discard.
A: No, your creatures will not gain haste, as Concerted Effort does not specifically mention that ability. In the vast majority of cases, this will not matter, as Concerted Effort's ability triggers at the beginning of each upkeep. Only the creatures you control when Concerted Effort's trigger resolves will gain abilities.
Q: If I play Fiery Conclusion and copy it with Izzet Guildmage, am I correct in assuming I do not have to sacrifice a creature for each additional copy of Fiery Conclusion, as the copies were not actually played?
A: You are correct. When you put a copy of a spell on the stack without playing it, you do not have to pay any of the costs associated with playing that spell.
A: You will only get five 1/1 token creatures. When Aura Mutation resolves, the first thing that happens is that the targeted enchantment is destroyed. Then you put into play a number of token creatures equal to the converted mana cost of the targeted enchantment. At this point, the Doubling Season is not in play, so its effect cannot double this number of token creatures.
A: Yes. When the Egg's leaves-play triggered ability resolves, the face-down imprinted card is put into play if is is a creature card. However, the Dreadnought has the restriction that it will not come into play at all unless you sacrifice creatures with a combined power of 12 or more. If you can't, then the Dreadnought card will go to your graveyard.
Q: If Wheel of Fortune causes a player to discard a hand that contains Darksteel Colossus, will the Colossus' ability cause it to be shuffled into its owners library before each player draws seven cards, or will the effect wait for Wheel of Fortune to finish resolving?
A: Darksteel Colossus' ability that causes it to be shuffled back into your library creates a replacement effect. This replacement effect is applied to whatever event would cause the Colossus to go to your graveyard. So when you discard your hand, the Colossus will be shuffled into your library, and everything else will go to your graveyard. Then you will draw seven cards, and you may even draw the Colossus that was just in your hand.
Q: I have a couple questions about the Two-Headed Giant format and the card Form of the Dragon. At the end of your turn, after playing Form of the Dragon, does your total life go to ten?
A: Not unless the team's life total was ten before the trigger. Form of the Dragon just sets your life total to five, not the life total of your teammate or of the entire team. When Form of the Dragon's end of turn triggered ability resolves you will take your current team life total, divide it by two and round up. This number is the life total of each individual player on the team. So, if your team life total is twenty-seven, then each player has an individual life total of fourteen. Your opponent's life total will remain fourteen, and yours will become five, so you will have a combined life total of nineteen. If nothing changes your life total, then in the next end of turn step, when Form of the Dragon's ability resolves, your combined life total will become fifteen.
Q: My second question is about the part of Form of the Dragon that reads, "creatures without flying can't attack you." Since teams attack and block together, would my teammate not be able to be attacked either?
A: You are correct. You attack a team in Two-Headed Giant, not individual players. This means that an effect that prevents you from being attacked by certain creatures will prevent them from attacking your team.