Ask the Judge, 12/26/2006
Rules Tip of the Day: Permanents that are sacrificed cannot be regenerated. Regeneration creates a replacement effect that changes what would happen when a permanent would be destroyed. When a permanent is sacrificed, it is not destroyed, so a regeneration shield has nothing to replace.
Q: I announce Scryb Ranger's ability, returning a Forest and targeting my Birds of Paradise. In response, my opponent Shocks the Birds. Since the Scryb Ranger's ability is on the stack, can I use it again and return another Forest to untap the Bird? My argument is that the first use of the ability will fizzle once it resolves.
A: No, you cannot play this ability again. You have already played it once this turn. Scryb Ranger's ability will be countered on resolution, but that ability can only be played once per turn—it does not say that it can only resolve once per turn.
A: I assume you are playing against a Dragonstorm deck. Generally, you can allow some of the Hellkite abilities to resolve and deal damage to you. Then, before the Bogardan Hellkite ability or abilities that will actually deal lethal damage resolve, you can sacrifice the Children of Korlis. If you do, then you will gain life equal to the life lost so far this turn, effectively negating the previous Hellkite abilities. Keep in mind that you will still receive damage from the remaining Hellkite abilities on the stack and you still have to deal with multiple 5/5 flyers in play.
On the other hand, if lethal damage is being dealt to you in just one event, then you cannot save yourself with Children of Korlis. In situations like these, by the time you receive the chance to activate the ability, you will have lost the game.
Q: What happens if I play a Vesuvan Shapeshifer, copying a Cytoplast Manipulator? Does the Shapeshifter get the +1/+1 counters? If yes, what happens when I turn him face down in my upkeep and pay 1U to unmorph him, will he get +1/+1 counters again?
A: As long as you play the Shapeshifter face up it will get the +1/+1 counters. It will not get these counters if it is face down and then turned face up. When you turn the Shapeshifter face down it will keep whatever counters it has. However, when you turn this Shapeshifter back up and choose to copy the Graft creature again, it will not gain any more counters. This is because this permanent is not coming into play, it is already in play.
A: You can't play the Suspend spells if you are under the Epic effect. You can still Suspend cards, but when you remove the last time counter from a Suspended card, you will not be able to play these spells. In the example given, the Gargadon will remain removed from the game after its last time counter is removed.
A: Yes, you can respond to the Echo ability by playing Momentary Blink. If you do, the Echo creature that returns to play will have no connection to the Echo ability that is currently on the stack. You can still pay the Echo cost if you want, but if you do not you won't have to sacrifice the creature. In this instance, you will be able to destroy another land, as this Avalanche Rider does come into play. But keep in mind that this creature's echo ability will trigger again at the beginning of your next upkeep, as it meets the condition for the Echo trigger: it has come into play since the beginning of your last upkeep.
Q: I have Martyr of Sands in play and opponent has Adarkar Valkyrie. I activate the Martyr's ability, revealing three white cards. In response, my opponent wants to target Martyr with Valkyrie to get the Martyr back. Is this possible?
A: No, you sacrificed the Martyr when you activated its ability. By the time your opponent has priority the Martyr will be in the graveyard and cannot be targeted by the Valkyrie's ability.
Q: If you have a Ward Sliver in your graveyard, and you Imprint it on Death-Mask Duplicant on it, will the Duplicant get protection from a color of your choice, the color that you chose when you played the Sliver, or none at all?
A: This Death-Mask Duplicant will not have any protection ability. Technically speaking, Ward Sliver does not have a protection ability; it has an ability that grants a protection ability to Slivers in play. Death-Mask Duplicant's ability cannot copy this ability, so it will not get anything from this imprinted Ward Sliver.
Q: How does Plagiarize work in Two-Headed Giant? Would both opponents skip their draw?
A: Plagiarize only targets a single player, not a team or all opponents. Additionally, it skips draw events, not the draw phase. This means that it will only affect one player, not an entire team, in a Two-Headed Giant game. The non-targeted member of this team will draw cards as normal. (In fact, if you want, you can target your teammate, so you draw two cards in your shared draw step and your teammate does not draw any.)