Ask the Judge, 6/6/2007
Rules Tip of the Day: You can only replace an individual draw once by Dredging for a single card. You cannot Dredge for multiple cards at one time unless you replace multiple card draws.
A: Yes, the ability of Draining Whelk that counters a spell and gives it +1/+1 counters does use the stack. You can deal lethal damage to the Whelk with Shock before it gets the counters. Keep in mind that this ability will still resolve and counter the targeted spell.
Q: Is it possible to Trickbind the delayed triggered abilities of the Future Sight Pacts? If so, when would I play Trickbind?
A: Yes, when a Pact resolves, a delayed triggered ability is created. These triggered abilities can be countered by Trickbind when they go on the stack. At the beginning of your next upkeep the delayed triggered ability will go on the stack. You can play Trickbind and counter this ability any time before it resolves.
Q: Recently this situation came up in a draft. I had two Grizzly Bears attacking, and my opponent chose to block with his own Bear. Before combat damage went on the stack, he played Kor Dirge, and chose to redirect the damage from my blocked creature to my unblocked creature. In response, I played Judge Unworthy, targeting his Bear. My question is, does the Kor Dirge kill my unblocked creature, event though his creature won't be around to receive damage from my blocked creature?
A: No, it will not. Kor Dirge targets the creature that would be dealt damage. When Kor Dirge goes to resolve this creature is no longer legal target. The spell will resolve, as it still has another legal target, but no replacement effects will be generated, as the creature that these "shields" would have been created for is no longer in play. In fact, even if Kor Dirge resolved and your opponent choose to redirect the combat damage from the attacking Bear before Judge Unworthy resolved, the damage from your attacker will not be redirected. When combat damage is assigned in this situation, your attacking blocked Bear will not assign any damage, since there is no longer a creature blocking it. Because it does not assign any damage, Kor Dirge will not have any damage to redirect.
Q: My opponent plays Dread Return targeting an Akroma, Angel of Wrath in his graveyard. If I respond and play Commandeer targeting the Dread Return, do I have to choose a different creature in my graveyard, or I can reanimate his Akroma?
A: When Commandeer resolves, you can choose to either keep the target of this Dread Return as the Akroma in your opponent's graveyard, or you can choose to change the target to a creature card in your graveyard. If you choose to keep the target the same, then Dread Return will be countered on resolution when it attempts to resolve. This is because a card in your opponent's graveyard is not a legal target for a Dread Return that you control. So if you do want to return a creature to play, you will have to change the target of Dread Return when you gain control of it.
A: No. You can only Transmute a card when you can play a sorcery. This is different from how Teferi interacts with creature cards with Suspend. You can Suspend a card whenever you can play it, and since Teferi gives all creature cards you have Flash, you can Suspend them whenever you could play an instant.
A: Teferi will give this card Flash, but that will only change when you can play it in your turn. You can play it as an instant, but only during your turn, and only if you have not played a land that turn.
A: Yes. Primal Forcemage's ability does not target. It will give +3/+3 to any creature you control when it comes into play.
A: Yes, you can counter it. The converted mana cost of Think Twice on the stack is always two, it does not matter how it is played. You paid three mana to play it via its Flashback cost, but its converted mana cost is still two.
Q: All my creatures are tapped and someone attacks me with Somnophore, which is not blocked. Can the Somnophore target any of my tapped creatures and make it not untap during untap phase, or, since all my creatures are tapped, will Somnophore have no legal targets, meaning that nothing happens?
A: Your opponent can target a creature that is already tapped. Yhe word 'tap' in that text is an instruction to tap the targeted creature and not a targeting restriction. If you can't tap this creature because it is already tapped, then you just ignore that part of the effect and do the rest.