Ask the Judge, 10/2/2007
Rules Tip of the Day: Auras do not target objects that they are attached to. They target objects they are about to become attached to, when they are spells.
Q: What happens if there are two or more Changeling creatures and Coat of Arms in play?
A: Each will get +1/+1 for each other creature in play. Coat of Arms gives a bonus to a creature for each creature that shares at least one type with it. This bonus does not depends on the number of types that they share. If two creatures with Changeling are the only creatures in play, each will only get +1/+1.
Q: Do the activated abilities of planeswalkers add or remove loyalty counters as part of their cost, or as part of the resolution of the ability? For instance, I activate Jace Beleren to have each player draw a card. If Voidslime counters this ability, are two loyalty counters still added? Furthermore, if Rings of Brighthearth is in play, and I copy this ability, does it put another loyalty counter on Jace?
A: Adding or removing loyalty counters is part of the activation cost of a planeswalker ability. The change in the number of counters is made when the ability is played; countering the ability will not change this. And Rings of Brighthearth's ability can put a copy of the appropriate activated ability on the stack, but these copies are not played. Making a copy of a planeswalker's ability will not change the number of loyalty counters that are on the planeswalker.
A: Yes, that works. You can play the ability and choose to have it deal zero points of damage. Keep in mind that this still counts as activating one of Chandra's abilities, so you will not be able to use that or any of her other abilities again that turn.
Q: Guile says that if a spell or ability I control would counter a spell, instead I remove that spell from the game and I may play it as though it were free. Does that mean I can play it any time, as in, a few turns later? Or would I have to play it immediately?
A: The effect from Guile's ability is applied at the same time that a spell or ability you control counters some other spell. This means that you are allowed to play the countered spell right there and then. You cannot save it to play later in the game.
Q: Two Elves with Champion enter play at the same time. If each one targets the other with the Champion ability, what happens? Does this create an infinite loop, since they both target each other and then leave, allowing the other to return to play?
A: No, removing a creature when the Champion ability resolves is optional, you cannot choose to remove a creature from the game over and over in order to force a draw. When the first of these abilities resolves, you can choose to remove the other Champion Elf from the game. Then, when the second ability resolves, you can choose to remove the other from the game, or choose not to. If you choose not to, then you will be instructed to sacrifice this second Elf. However, it is not in play any longer, so you cannot sacrifice it, and won't be able to do anything.
A: No. Goblin Lackey's ability only allows you to put a Goblin card in your hand into play. This only applies to those cards that can exist in play as a permanent. In fact, Goblin Lackey's current Oracle text specifically refers to 'Goblin permanent cards.' So you cannot play a Tarfire when this ability resolves, but you can put a Boggart Shenanigans into play.
A: It will, sort of, but that's because you sacrifice a Goblin as an additional cost. The sacrificed Goblin in play will go from play to the graveayard, and that will trigger the ability. But when it resolves, the Fodder Launch itself going to the graveyard will not trigger Knucklebone Witch's ability.
A: The 'four-of' rule only applies to deck construction, not to what you are allowed to have in play. What you describe is perfectly legal.
Q: I have Varchild's War-Riders in play, and my opponent has eight 1/1 red Survivor tokens in play, created by the War-Riders. I attack with Varchild's War-Riders, and he blocks my Riders with all the tokens, so my creature will get +7/+7. What happens if I play Brand after my opponent declares his blockers? Will my Varchild's War-Riders deal ten or three damage to him?
A: How much damage is dealt depends on when you play and resolve Brand. If it resolves before the Rampage triggered ability resolves, then the War-Riders will not get any bonus from Rampage, as no creatures will be blocking it at this point. However, if you wait until after the Rampage ability resolves and before combat damage is assigned, it will deal ten points of combat damage.