Ask the Judge, 10/18/2007
Rules Tip of the Day: Coat of Arms gives +1/+1 to a creature for each other creature in play that it shares at least one type with, not +1/+1 for each type that is shared. Two creatures in play with Changeling will only each get +1/+1.
Q: I control Mycosynth Lattice, March of the Machines, Experiment Kraj, and Garruk Wildspeaker. Garruk is an artifact creature. Then I play Kraj's ability and put a +1/+1 counter on Garruk. The Kraj gains planeswalker abilities, right? Can I play these abilities?
A: You are correct. The Kraj will gain those planeswalker abilities and can gain and spend loyalty counters. In fact, since the Kraj is not a planeswalker, you can activate its abilities over and over again. You are not restricted to only playing those gained abilities once per turn or only when the stack is empty.
Q: Player A has a Nova Chaser in play. Player B enchants the Nova Chaser with Lignify. A few turns later, Player A blocks a creature with the Lignified Nova Chaser, which is destroyed. Does the Championed creature return? Player B believes that the Champion ability is completely removed by the Lignify and, as such, the creature will not return from the removed from game zone. Player A believes that a delayed trigger is put onto the removed card, so that when the Nova Chaser (Lignified or not) leaves play, the removed creature returns to play. Who is correct?
A: Player B is correct, the removed creature will not return to play. Champion is actually two triggered abilities: a comes-into-play triggered ability and a leaves-play one. The leaves-play ability is not a delayed triggered ability created by the comes-into-play ability; it is a completely separate triggered ability. In this example, the enchanted Nova Chaser will not have any abilities, so the leaves-play ability cannot trigger.
Q: Does Purity prevent combat damage?
A: No. Combat damage is not a spell or an ability.
Q: If I have two Gilt-Leaf Seers in play, can I play the activated ability for each one and look at the top four cards of my library and put them back in any order?
A: No. You only resolve one ability at a time. When the first ability resolves, you will look at the top two cards of your library and put them back in any order. Then the second ability will resolve, and you will do the same thing. Activating two of these abilities does not create a cumulative effect where you can look and rearrange the top four cards of your library.
A: It will be a 7/7 creature. Both the power and toughness setting effects from Lignify and Mirror Entity's abilities are applied in the same layer and according to timestamp order. As Mirror Entity's ability resolved last, it will determine the power and toughness of this creature.
A: No, for two reasons. One, Boggart Mob's ability only triggers when combat damage is dealt. The damage from Tarfire is never combat damage, even if it is played in the combat step. Also, when the text of a spell or ability refers to a type or subtype without also using the words "spell", "card", or "source", it means a permanent in play with that type or subtype. So Boggart Mob's ability would not trigger even if the ability triggered on any kind of damage.
Q: In a friendly game, a friend of mine tried to play Eyeblight's Ending on my Militia's Pride, asserting that because the enchantment was a Kithkin it could be targeted as though it were a creature. Is there any validity to this?
A: No. Militia's Pride does have a creature subtype, because it has the Tribal type, but it is not a creature. It can be targeted by spells and abilities that can target enchantments, tribal cards, or just permanents in general, but it cannot be targeted by a spell or ability that only targets creatures.
A: You cannot respond to the choice of what creature to remove from the game when a Champion comes-into-play ability resolves. This choice happens when the ability resolves, not when the ability goes on the stack. By the time you receive priority to play Crib Swap, the Champion comes-into-play ability will have resolved.
Q: My opponent plays Evangelize. In response, I turn my Treetop Village into a creature and choose it for my opponent to gain control of. What happens at the end of my opponent's turn when Treetop Village is no longer a creature?
A: First of all, this cannot happen as described. The target of Evangelize is chosen when Evangelize is played. It does not matter that you choose this target. In order to choose the Village as the target of the Evangelize, it would have to have been a creature before Evangelize was played. If the Village was animated before Evangelize was played and it was legally targeted, then your opponent would keep control of it at the end of turn. The fact that it is no longer a creature does not end the control effect of Evangelize.
Q: Does Mana Drain only give colorless mana, or does it give colored mana as well?
A: Mana Drain cares about the converted mana cost of the countered spell, not the actual mana cost. This means that you will get colorless mana.