Ask the Judge 12/26/2007
Rules Tip of the Day: Magic Acronym - APNAP: Whenever both players in the game either need to make a decision or put triggered abilities they control on the stack, the active player acts first, followed by the non-active player, or "APNAP order." According to the multiplayer rules, this is expanded so that the active player acts/chooses first, followed by each non-active player according to turn order.
Q: My opponent uses Thoughtseize on me and all I have in my hand is lands. Does he still lose two life?
A: Yes. When a spell or ability resolves, you attempt to do as much as possible. When Thoughtseize resolves, your opponent will lose two life, even if he cannot make a valid choice.
Q: If I have Gaea's Anthem, Might Sliver and Telekinetic Sliver in play, and my opponent plays Nameless Inversion, targeting Might Sliver, does it actually kill it? I believe it does not, due to the order in which it applies the effects of the card.
A: Yes, it will end up going to the graveyard. The way that Nameless Inversion is written is not relevant to the way that continuous effects interact. When calculating the characteristics of a permanent you apply all effects that deal with type and subtype first before you do those that affect power and toughness. This means that when Might Sliver's ability is applied, the Might Sliver itself is not a Sliver, and it will not receive its own +2/+2 bonus.
Q: When Thundercloud Shaman comes into play, it deals damage equal to the number of Giants I control to each non-Giant creature. Are Changelings affected by this?
A: No; they are Giants. If you control these Changelings, they will be counted when determining the amount of damage dealt to each non-Giant, but they will not be dealt any damage.
A: They will end up being sacrificed. The Hazezon Tamar that is in play is not the one that was in play when the Sand Warrior tokens entered play. During the resolution of Momentary Blink, when the targeted Hazezon leaves play, the triggered abilities of the Sand Warrior tokens will trigger. After Momentary Blink resolves, all of these triggers will go on the stack. As each resolves, you will sacrifice the appropriate token. Keep in mind that you will end up getting additional tokens in your next upkeep step.
A: Yes. At the beginning of the end of turn step of this extra turn, the delayed triggered ability created by Final Fortune will go on the stack. If this trigger resolves, you will lose the game, But you can use Stifle to counter this triggered ability.
Q: I have a Copper-Leaf Angel in play. If an opponent puts Limited Resources into play, and I have eight lands in play, can I sacrifice three lands immediately to pump Copper-Leaf Angel, and thus not have to sacrifice them to Limited Resources?
A: Yes. You can respond to the comes-into-play ability of Limited Resources by activating Copper-Leaf Angel's ability three times. If you do, then you will not have to sacrifice any lands when this triggered ability resolves.
A: No. Blue Elemental Blast is a modal spell; when you make a copy of a modal spell, it is an exact copy with the same mode.
Q: I have a Concordant Crossroads in play along with eight creatures and a Gaea's Cradle. I tap the Cradle for eight mana and cast a Phyrexian Marauder with four counters on it. At this point, can I pay the remaining four mana so that I might attack with the Marauder, or can I only do that during my combat phase, meaning I take mana burn and am not allowed to attack with my Marauder?
A: You do not pay mana to allow Phyrexian Marauder to attack until it is declared as an attacker. However, your mana pool empties, and you receive mana burn for unspent mana, at the end of each phase. This means that you will receive four points of burn and the Marauder will not be able to attack this turn.