Ask the Judge, 5/5/2008
Rules Tip of the Day: All permanents have what used to be called 'summoning sickness,' but only creatures are affected. When a permanent become a creature, it will be unable to tap to activate an ability that has the tap symbol in an activation cost or attack if you have not controlled that permanent continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn. You can attack with lands that are turned into creatures by Rude Awakening, Vivify, etc., as long as you have controlled them since the beginning of your most recent turn. It does not matter that they just became creatures, only that you have controlled those permanents since the start of your most recent turn.
Q: I have a Rhys the Redeemed], a Sporesower Thallid, and three Saproling tokens. If I use Rhys the Redeemed's ability to double all my tokens, and in response I play Mirrorweave targeting my Sporesower Thallid, my three saprolings become copies. When Rhys's ability resolves, copying my tokens, would this give me permanent Sporesower tokens?
A: Yes. Rhys's ability puts a copy of each token creature into play. Copy effect do 'see' other copy effects. So when Rhys's ability resolves, you put three token copies of Sporesower Thallid into play. When this turn ends, the original three Saproling tokens will revert back into being 1/1 saprolings, but the tokens put into play when Rhys's ability resolved will remain as token copies of Sporwsower.
A: It will be removed from the game, gain suspend and have three time counters placed on it. Tatterkite's ability only applies when Tatterkite is in play. When in the removed from game zone, it can have counters placed on it.
Q: A Witherscale Wurm with no counters on it is given trample, attacks, and is blocked by a 5/5 creature. Can Witherscale Wurm remove the five -1/-1 counters it receives during that combat phase?
A: Yes. When combat damage is dealt in this situation, the Witherscale Wurm will receive five -1/-1 counters, the blocking creature will receive five points of damage, and the defending player will receive four points of damage. This will cause the Wurm's ability to trigger. When this triggered ability resolves, the -1/-1 counters that were just put on the Wurm will be removed. This happens because -1/-1 counters from a creature with Wither are put on as damage would be dealt; Wither is not a triggered ability that uses the stack.
Q: I have Pariah in play enchanting Swans of Bryn Argoll, and my opponent attacks with a Scarblade Elite. I don't block the Elite with the Swans. Do I draw two cards due to Pariah, or does my opponent?
A: Your opponent will, as he controls the source of the damage that is dealt to the Swans. Pariah does not change the source of the damage that is dealt to the enchanted creature or who controls this source.
Q: I have an enchant deck that involves Enchanted Evening; if a card is put into a graveyard, is it still considered an enchantment?
A: No, Enchanted Evening only affects permanents in play, not cards or spells in any other zone.
Q: Can I play a card like Solfatara in response to someone playing a land?
A: No, playing a land does not use the stack and cannot be responded to. It is a special action. In order to use Solfatara effectively, it must be played in the beginning phase of a turn before lands can be played.
A: It will be an Island and an Mountain. The effect from Quicksilver Fountain's triggered ability only affects a land when it's triggered ability resolves and places a counter on that land. It does not have a static ability that is applied to all lands with flood counters on them.
Q: I control an Ink-Treader Nephilim, a Simic Guildmage, and I have Shielding Plax on the Guildmage. If my opponent casts Lightning Helix on my Nephilim, and I respond by moving the Shielding Plax onto it, do I still get a copy of Lightning Helix for each other creature in play?
A: Yes. When this Lightning Helix is played the ability of the Ink-Treader Nephilim will trigger and go on the stack. Even if the Nephilim later becomes untargetable or an illegal target, this triggered ability will resolve and make a copy for every other creature in play that could be targeted. Assuming that the Shielding Plax stays on the Nephilim, then the original Lightning Helix will be countered on resolution.
Q: My friend has a Prodigal Sorcerer in play. I have a Shambling Shell. My opponent taps the Sorcerer to deal one damage to my Shambling Shell and kill it. I sacrifice the Shell in response. He claims that because Prodigal Sorcerer's ability is a tap ability, it overrides my sacrifice ability. Which one of us is right?
A: Your opponent is incorrect. Both abilities are activated abilities; the costs do not matter or change how they work. You can respond to Prodigal Sorcerer's activated ability by activating Shambling Shell's activated ability.