Ask the Judge, 5/27/2008
Rules Tip of the Day: When multiple permanents go to the graveyard at the same time, their owner can choose the order that they appear in the graveyard. That does not mean that they leave play, one at a time, as separate events.
A: Nothing. All of the other permanents in play will be destroyed, but the Enforcer will not, since when Tempest of Light or Patrician's Scorn resolves, it is indestructible. Immediately after the enchantment destroying spell resolves, the Enforcer will not be indestructible, but that will not matter; the destroy effect has already been applied and it missed the Enforcer.
A: When you make a copy of a spell, an exact copy of the spell is made. If the entwine cost of the original spell was paid, then the copy will be entwined. If you did not pay the entwine cost and only choose one mode, then the copy will also only have that same mode.
A: Yes. After combat damage is dealt in this situation, the Urchin will end up with five -1/-1 counters on it.
Q: Does Put Away hit the graveyard in time for it to "put itself away"?
A: No, for two reasons. Put Away targets a card in your graveyard, and this target must be chosen when you play Put Away. Also, when a spell resolves, it goes to the graveyard as the very last part of its resolution. So the Put Away spell will be on the stack when you need to choose a target card in your graveyard and when this effect is applied.
Q: I play Sower of Temptation and gain control of a persist creature. When the persist creature goes to the graveyard with no -1/-1 counters on it, whose control does it come back into play under: the player who controlled the creature as it left play, or the owner?
A: When a persist trigger resolves, it returns the creature to play under its owner's control, which is not necessarily the controller of the creature when it left play.
A: No; Orochi Leafcaller is not tapped to play that mana ability. Mana Reflection only doubles the amount of mana that is produced when you tap a permanent to activate a mana ability.
A: If his Sower is still in play, then your opponent will. When your Sower leaves play, the change of control effect created by its ability will end, but the effect from your opponent's Sower will still be applied. Change of control effects are like layers of paint and the top most one is the one that determines the control of the object. The top layer can be removed to change the controller of the object.
A: Yes. When you resolve a spell, you follow all instructions in the order written. With respect to the Command spells from Lorwyn, you apply the chosen modes as they appear on the card. The mode that has you shuffle a graveyard into a player's library is before the one that allows you to search for a creature card, so you can do what you have described.
Q: I have a Vesuvan Shapeshifter copying a Brine Elemental. During my upkeep, I am going to turn it face down. My opponent has a Nameless Inversion. Is there any scenario (as a morph, in response to morph, etc.) where he can kill my face-up/face-down Shapeshifter with that one card if I don't let him?
A: Not if you have the necessary mana to flip it up again or if you make the right decision. When the Shapeshifter's triggered ability resolves, you can choose to turn the Shapeshifter face-down. If your opponent targets it with Nameless Inversion, then you can always respond by turing the Shapeshifter face-up and copying the Brine Elemental. If your opponent plays and resolves the Nameless Inversion before the Shapeshifter's upkeep triggered ability resolves, you can then choose not to turn it face-down.
Q: I have both Summoner's Egg (with an imprinted creature) and Arcum Dagsson in play. If I activate Arcum Dagsson, sacrificing the Egg and searching for Monkey Cage, which will enter play first - the imprinted creature, or Monkey Cage?
A: The Monkey Cage. When Arcum Dagsson's ability resolves, you will sacrifice the Egg and search for an artifact. The Egg's leaves-play triggered ability will trigger when it is sacrificed, but this triggered ability will not go on the stack until after Arcum's ability has completely resolved.