Ask The Judge - 07/10/2001
Q: If I attack with a 1/1 creature and my opponent has a Drudge Skeletons out and one black untapped. I attack with the 1/1 and my opponent blocks and puts a regeneration shield on the skeletons. Can I then cast a Captain's Maneuver and kill the skeletons?
Flethcer Fowler (Hey, he spelled it that way -- The Ferrett, assuming that this is"Fletcher," but he could be wrong)
A: No, because the damage dealt to the Skeletons by the 1/1 creature and the Captain's Manuever damage would resolve at the same time, since Captain's Manuever is replacing the combat damage the Skeletons are doing to the 1/1 creature. The Skeletons take two damage. The regeneration shield would then kick in, saving the Skeleton.
Q: I control a creature enchanted with Coalition Flag and another creature. My opponents casts Orim's Thunder(with kicker), targeting the Coalition Flag. Must he target the creature that's enchanted, or can he target another creature?
A: If a spell has multiple targets, you must choose a Flagbearer as one of the targets if it's legal... But you can choose which of the two abilities you target the Flagbearer with. In this particular case, if you're targeting the Coaltion Flag with the"destroy enchantment" part of Thunder, you must choose the Flagged creature as the target for the damage. If the Flagged creature was an artifact creature, however, you could choose to do the"destroy artifact" part to that creature, fulfilling the Flag's requirement, and then do the damage to another creature.
Q: I have made this combo, but I don't know if it works. The combo is Aether Flash and Nature's Revolt: The problem is, I don't know what takes place first. So my question is, does the land turn into a creature and then take the damage, or does the damage take place before the land turns into a creature? Or am I the one who decides what happens first?
A: Continuous effects affect permanents as they come into play, then don't come into play as just lands and then get turned into land/creatures (418.2). With Nature's Revolt in play, lands come into play as 2/2 creatures and get whacked by the Aether Flash.
Does the Kavu die before it has a chance to put its CIP ability on the stack? I was under the impression that continuous abilities affect things before CIP abilities can happen (like Humility can't be Monk Realist'd).
Continuous effects do affect things as they come into play, but your example and the Humilty/Monk thing are different. The Monk comes into play as a 1/1 creature with no abilities, so it can't destroy the Humility. The Flametongue Kavu comes into play as a 2/0 creature ("comes into play" being operative). Since it comes into play, it's triggered ability is going to be put on the stack, no matter what. Before it is, we check SBEs and find we have a dead Flametongue. Then the trigger is put on the stack, resolves, and kills the Evincar.
It's all fun and games until everybody dies. Good question.