Ask The Judge, 11/19/01
Q: Let's say that I have a Darkest Hour in play, which reads"All creatures are black," and I also have a Spiritmonger (or Kavu Chameleon, for that matter) in play. I pay G to activate his ability and change him to White. My question is, is he white and black, or just white, or just black? I would tend to think he would be white and black, but I'm unsure. Any info is appreciated, and thanks in advance.
He's white. If an effect gives a permanent a new color, the new color replaces all previous colors the permanent had (Glossary,"Color").
Q: Let's say that I have a Repercussion in play (1RR Enchantment - Whenever a creature is dealt damage, Repercussion deals that much damage to that creature's controller), and my opponent has both a Soltari Priest and a Soltari Monk out. How would a Fault Line (XRR Instant - Fault Line deals X damage to each creature without flying and each player) for seven play out? I'm curious if the protection from red property of the Priest would result in my opponent taking fourteen points instead of twenty-one.
Q: Do both players have to have a creature in play for an Innocent Blood (B Sorcery - Each player sacrifices a creature) to successfully resolve? That is, if my opponent has a creature in play but I do not, and I play Innocent Blood, will my opponent still have to sacrifice their creature?
A: There's no targeting restriction on Innocent Blood. Upon resolution, each player follows the instructions on the card as well as able. If he doesn't have a creature to sacrifice, then he doesn't. The opponent still sacrifices a creature (if he has one).
Q: If I cast an Exhume, is there a window where I can cast Entomb as an instant after the Exhume is on the stack and put a new creature in the library and target it instead of a creature that was already there?
A: Exhume doesn't target at all. If it did, Entomb would be no good to you, because you'd have to choose the creature on announcement. Since there's no target, you can play Exhume and then respond with Entomb to get the creature you want.
Q: How many licks does it take to get the tootsie roll center of a Tootsie Pop?
A: Didn't you pay attention to the commercials with the wise old owl? It's thrrrreee!
Q: If I play Recoup on a spell that already has flashback on it, do I get to play it with the original casting cost, or would I still have to pay the spell's flashback cost? As an example, would a Eecouped Firebolt cost one red, or would I have to pay the one red and four colorless still?
A: You can pay either cost (Odyssey FAQ). The permanent now has two Flashback abilities (although you'll still only be able to play it once).
Q: If someone is using the Patron Wizard and has two other wizards in play and they tap all three guys to counter a spell before seeing if you pay the mana, they can't go back and untap two of them if you don't pay it, right? Or would they have to tap one wizard and wait, then tap another and wait, etc....Thank you for clarifying that for me.
A: That's right. They performed a legal action by stacking the ability three times. Their best move is to tap one, let it resolve, tap the next, let it resolve, and so forth. There are never take-backs in competetive Magic.