Ask The Judges, 07-05-2002
Q: My opponent has got four life left; I've got one. I have seven untapped lands, including a mountain, and Ghitu Fire in my hand. To avoid counterspells, I play the Ghitu Fire as an instant, in my opponent's end step. With his last untapped Island, he plays Envelop. Is the Ghitu Fire an Instant?
A: The spell is still a sorcery; it is only played as an instant. Unfortunately for you, it will get countered by the Envelop.
Q: If I have an Aegis of Honor out and my opponent plays a punisher spell, can I take the damage and then redirect it to my opponent?
A: If the punisher spell is an instant or a sorcery, you can redirect the damage to your opponent.
Q: Exactly how does the"end of turn" phase work? For example, if I discard two cards to remove Anurid Brushhopper after the"end of turn" has been announced, when does it come back?
A: There is no"end of turn" phase; there is an End Phase, which consists of the End of Turn step and the Cleanup step. If you discard Anurid Brushhopper, it will return at the end of the next turn;
Q: If I use Chamber of Manipulation to steal a creature after my opponent's end of turn has been announced, do I get to attack with it on my turn?
A: This is not possible; this effect lasts"until" end of turn, which is different from"at" end of turn effects."Until" effects will wear off during the Cleanup step; no player receives priority in the Cleanup step, so it is not possible to use the Chamber then.
Q: This is confusing.
A: I know, just remember the difference:
- At end of turn -> End of turn step
- Until end of turn -> Cleanup step
Q: We have had a discrepancy regarding the play of the Fleetfoot Panther. I want to wait until the person playing the panther chooses a target to return to his hand, and then hit that target with a Lightning Bolt or Terror, causing the Panther to fizzle since he is technically changing his target. My friend says he can change his target. Who is right?
A: Neither is right - but your friend is closer to the correct answer. You do not have to target anything when you play the Panther, and the Panther cannot fizzle - or, more technically, it cannot be countered because of an illegal target.
When the Panther comes into play you put the"comes into play" ability on the stack. The opponent can respond to this: Let's assume the Panther player has only one other creature - a Birds of Paradise - in play. In response to the Panther"comes into play" ability, you Terror the Birds.
Now we resolve the Panther ability. The ability is not targeted, so you don't have to choose which creature you will return until you resolve the ability. There are no green or white creatures in play when the ability resolves, except for the Panther itself. The person who played the Panther will have to return it to his hand.