Ask The Judge, 10/16/2002
Q: Lately, I've been thinking of running Opposition/Static Orb for the new Type 2. My question is: At the end of my opponent's turn, can I tap a squirrel with Opposition to target my own Orb? If I did, would I then get to untap all my permanents during my untap stage, since the permanents all untap at the same time?
Yes, you do. This has long been Orbosition tech. The reason this works is that the first thing you do during your Untap Step is determine what you're going to untap (rule 302.1). Because the Static Orb is tapped, its effect is"turned off." You'll untap it, along with the rest of your permanents. Sheldon
Q: Almighty Judge-Type Persons,
My opponent is playing a standard Oath-Turbo Land style deck. He has a Treetop Village in play, along with a Spike Weaver. During my end step, he taps six land, moves all the spike counters to his Treetop Village, untaps, Oaths up another spike (since I had a creature in play) and begins the process again, eventually beating me down with a huge trampling Treetop Village.
Here are my two questions:
1) I was under the assumption that unless he activates the Treetop he cannot move the counters to it because Spike Weaver' ability says,"Target Creature."
2) If he does activate the Treetop, will the counters not fall off at the end of the turn when the Treetop becomes only a land again?
Thanks again and keep up the good work,
I'm sure Gis and I will both cop to being not-quite-Almighty.
You're right, though; the Treetop must be activated before he can target it with his Spike's ability; otherwise, it's not a legal target. The counters, however, will indeed stay, even though they're meaningless (rule 214.4) until it's"recreaturized."
Q: Hi Sheldon,
Good to see that you are back in business at StarCityGames!
I have a sheepish question about"existing creature types" (Rule 214.7): How is it determined if a creature type exists? Must there be a creature with this type or must it only be possible to create a creature with this type.
For example:"Sheep" does not exist as a type on any creature, but Ovinomancer creates sheep. So is"sheep" an existing creature type?
Thank you for the help and keep up the great work,
A: Hey, Christian! Good to hear from you again.
It's now determined by the list that was released on Oct 7, 2002 in the latest Rules Team update. You'll be happy to know that"Sheep" is on the list. As am I, since I own the original art to Ovinomancer.
Q: Honorable Sirs,
With the new focus on beasts, I have been looking back through my cards to find any usable in multiplayer, etc. I came across Electryte. I was wondering: If someone were to block Electryte, then I gave it trample (say, with Krosan Groundshaker), as well as pumping it up some (with Snarling Undorak), and it got big enough to trample over, even for one, would that be combat damage and therefore fry all the blocking creatures?
Thanks in advance,
Combat damage is dealt during the combat damage step of the combat phase by attacking creatures and blocking creatures. It doesn't include damage dealt by spells and abilities during the combat phase (Glossary,"Combat Damage," and rule 310).
That means that any damage the Electryte does as a result of attacking (to include trampling over) is combat damage. Its trigger condition is met, so you would then, as you so eloquently put it,"fry all the blocking creatures."