Ask The Judge, 10/20/2003
Q: When I cast Soul Foundry, and imprint upon it a creature that has Affinity (take Myr Enforcer), is the X in the activated ability also effected by affinity, or does Soul Foundry not take the reduced casting cost into consideration?
A: Soul Foundry doesn't care about Affinity, it only cares about the mana cost of the card - the value printed in the upper right-hand corner. Nothing ever changes the mana cost/converted mana cost.
Q: When Shared Fate is in play, the draws are replaced by the remove from game effect. The cards removed from game from your library are controlled by your opponent, and vice versa.
When you play one of these cards - a creature, for example - and it is destroyed, whose graveyard does it go to: Yours (the controller of the spell) or theirs (the owner of the card)? I presume the same answer is valid for countering a spell, too.
Will"cards removed from the game by Shared Fate" apply to only the individual copy of Shared Fate in play, or will they be available should the Fate be destroyed and a second Fate cast? If they are only available off the copy used for the removed from game effect, what happens when there are 2 Shared Fates in play? Do you chose which Fate triggers for the draw or do both fates trigger thus removing 2 cards? Are there removed from game zones for each trigger?
A: Cards will always go to their owner's graveyards.
The removed cards are tied to the particular Shared Fate that removed them. If the Shared Fate goes away, the cards stay removed from the game. Shared Fate doesn't trigger; it has a replacement effect. If you have two Shared Fates, you decide which one applies; the other one then has nothing to replace.
Q: Does Blood Moon affect the"artifact Land" subtype under 8th edition rules? Or do artifact lands read"Artifact Land - Mountain"?
A: Blood Moon will indeed affect Artifact Lands because they're non-basic (meaning they don't have the supertype"Basic"). Blood Moon removes any subtypes a non-basic land might have (if at all) and replaces them with the subtype"Mountain." Changing a permanent's sub-types don't change its types or supertypes. With Blood Moon in play, they'll be Artifact Land - Mountain.
Q: At the local store I play at, when we draft, at the end of the draft the store owner takes all the foils and rares that were drafted and lays them out on the table face up and then the players draft them based on what place you came in. I was just curious if this was actually allowed under DCI rules.
A: This is most definitely not allowed in DCI-Sanctioned tournaments. If your storeowner is currently doing this in sanctioned events, instruct him to stop right away. If he doesn't, then let me know and I'll contact the appropriate people. If these are the only prizes he's offering and he's charging you full draft price, then he's also ripping you off (in my opinion).
That being said, I highly recommend this prize distribution in casual drafts. It keeps folks from rare-drafting.
Q: Does tapping artifact lands to pump the Lodestone Myr add mana to your mana pool?
A: No. The only time you get mana from a land is when you tap it for the expressed purpose of doing so. If you tap it to pay some other cost, you don't get the mana.
Q: I am trying to figure out which happens first. If I play a Spreading Algae on a swamp and my opponent taps that swamp to cast an Extraplanar Lens, does the swamp get destroyed, sending the Algae back to my hand - or does my opponent get to imprint that swamp upon the Lens, thereby sending the Algae to the graveyard?
A: The Spreading Algae triggers during announcement of the Lens, and goes on the stack on top of the it. The trigger resolves, destroying the land (which triggers putting the Algae back in your hand). Then the Lens finally resolves. Your opponent doesn't target a land to Imprint until the Lens actually comes into play and its Imprint ability triggers.
Q: I'm playing an Astral Slide deck and my opponent is playing Mono Black Control. He has an Oblivion Stone and a Twisted Abomination with a fate counter on it in play. If I cycle a card and remove the Abomination from the game with Astral Slide, does the counter"fall off" and so it has no counter on it when it returns at the end of turn?
A: Yes, the Twisted Abomination returns to play without a counter; it's treated as a completely new creature. Note that since the Abomination has a regeneration ability, he can still regenerate it from Oblivion Stone.
Q: If I have played a land this turn, may I also play an artifact land?
A: No, unless you have something like Exploration that allows you to play extra lands during your turn. An Artifact Land is still a land.