Ask the Judge, 02/16/2004
Q: So, my question is how Vernal Bloom and Pulse of the Llanowar interact. Vernal Bloom says: Whenever a Forest is tapped for mana, its controller adds G to his or her mana pool. Pulse of the Llanowar says: If a basic land you control is tapped for mana, it produces mana of any one color instead of its normal type.
So if I am trying to get Blue mana from my Forests, does each Forest produce GU, or UU? And whichever it does, why does it do it that way?
A: Pulse of Llanowar's replacement effect lets you get any color mana from your Forest. Vernal Bloom's mana-triggered ability adds green no matter what color you got from the Forest, because that's what it's ability says. You'd get GU.
Q: If I have a Heartseeker in play that allows me to kill a creature by un-attaching Heartseeker. My question is: If my creature is affected by summoning sickness, can I use the Heartseeker to kill his creature or must I wait until my turn?
A: Heartseeker grants an ability to the creature. Note it says"...gains <ability>." That means it's the creature's ability and not the artifact's. You can't tap it yet.
Q: I have a Mogg Maniac in play. My opponent enchants my Mogg Maniac with Pariah. Any damage done to my opponent is redirected to my Mogg Maniac, but when my Mogg Maniac takes damage, it does an equal amount of damage to my opponent. Would Pariah then redirect that damage back to my Mogg Maniac? Does my Mogg Maniac die at some point and break this seemingly infinite loop?
I guess what I'm really asking is, what happens when my opponent takes damage?
A: Mogg Maniac has a triggered ability; Pariah has a replacement effect. Pariah replaces damage done to your opponent with damage done to the Maniac. The Maniac will take X damage and trigger. Before we put that trigger on the stack, we check State-Based Effects. The Maniac is put into the graveyard, and then the Pariah sees that it's not enchanting anything and be put into the 'yard as well. Then the Maniac's ability will resolve, damaging your opponent. The Pariah is no longer around to replace that damage.
Q: I was actually playing a game over lunch today, using a new Modular deck I worked up. An opponent in our two-headed giant game played Patriarch's Bidding. He claimed that since the Arcbound cards were simply"Artifact Creature", they had no Creature Type and could not be returned to play.
A: Your opponent was correct. Not all artifact creatures have a creature type (Myr do, as do some Golems, plus a few others)."Artifact" is not a creature type and can't be named for Patriarch's Bidding.
Q: I have a face-down Skirk Marauder in play. During my opponent's turn, he plays Noxious Ghoul. After the ghoul resolves, I morph my Skirk Marauder and deal two damage to his 3/3 token. Does my marauder get to deal the two damage before dying?
A: Yes. Its ability will trigger on it being turned face up. Before that trigger goes on the stack, you check State-Based Effects, and put the Skirk in the graveyard. The triggered ability will still resolve.
A: The ability still resolves, removing your opponent's creature. Removing Carrionette isn't a condition of removing the creature.
Q: I was under the impression that Oblation didn't allow the owner to draw two cards if it targets a token, since it could not be shuffled into the library. The card states,"....shuffles it into his or her library, then draws two cards." Since the two sentence fragments are joined by"then," and a token cannot be shuffled into a library, I would think the clause is not met and the two cards cannot be drawn, since the effect does not proceed to that stage. Is this correct?
A: The card draw isn't contingent on a physical card being shuffled back into the deck. So long as the target is still legal on resolution, the entire ability will resolve. You'll shuffle nothing into your deck and then draw two cards.
Provided I have the mana, does it allow me to empty my opponent's hand ? If so how much does it cost me to empty his whole hand (seven)?
A: Yes. Words of Waste has a replacement effect, Geth's Grimoire is triggered. You can activate it for each card you would draw, making the opponent discard, triggering the Grimoire, replacing that, and so on. It will cost you one for each card you want him to discard. Remember, the Words' ability must be resolve before you would draw the card.
Q: Can you launder mana? For instance, Thran Turbine states that you can add two colorless mana, but that mana cannot be used to play spells. If you pass the mana through a Chromatic Sphere, can you cast a spell with it?
A: Sure. You've used the Thran Turbine mana to activate an ability, not to play a spell. When the activated ability resolves, the mana knows it came directly from the Chromatic Sphere.
Q: Will activating my Isochron Scepter with a spell imprinted on it count for:
a) Untapping my Pristine Angel
b) Putting a charge counter on my opponent's Chimeric Egg.
A: a) Yes. You're playing a spell.
b) Yes, so long as it's not an artifact spell (you never know, there might someday be an Artifact Instant with CMC of 2 or less).
A: No. Counters with different names are not interchangeable.