Ask the Judge, 06/07/2004
Rules Tip of the Day: The mana cost of a nonland card is indicated by the mana symbols printed on its upper right corner. The mana cost of a land card, token, or face-down creature is 0. See rule 203,"Mana Cost and Color."
A: Once again, someone's written in with the question from our friend Rune's Saturday School poll. We'll answer the question next week. Until then, vote in the poll here: Saturday School #81.
A: Yes. Just like Lifeline, all Endless Whispers cares about is that it was a creature when it went to the graveyard. It will return under the opponent's control at EOT.
Q: The Fifth Dawn FAQ says that if you Entwine Spectral Shift, you can't target the same spell or permanent with both effects. Why not? It has two different effects.
A: If a spell has multiple targets (and an Entwined Spectral Shift does), you have to choose different targets for it. You can't choose the same target more than once (rule 409.1c).
A: Yes. You can choose one for blue and one for white and put them both in your hand. Don't forget to remove All Suns' Dawn from the game.
Q: I have Great Furnace, Blood Moon, and Quicksilver Fountain in play. At the beginning of my upkeep I put a Flood counter on Great Furnace. What will be the type of Great Furnace and which color of mana will it give?
A: It will give blue. It's a simple issue of timestamps. Blood Moon has made it into an Artifact Land - Mountain, and Quicksilver Fountain's ability turns it into Artifact Land - Island.
Q: If I play Flicker on a permanent with Sunburst, does it return to play with no counters or does return to play with an amount of counters on it equal to the amount there were on it when it was originally played?
A: It returns with no counters. You treat the permanent as a newly-played version. The Sunburst ability is an ability of the spell that has Sunburst, not an ability of whatever puts it into play (rule 502.37b).
Q: Can Plow Under target two separate players (one land each) or must it target one player?Can it target a player with only one land?
A: Plow Under only targets the lands, not the player(s). You can target lands that belong to two different players, but you MUST target two lands in order to play it.
Q: If you have Fist of Suns in play and you play a spell with the Fist's ability and the spell has X in the cost, can you simply declare what X? Does this mean I can do a million point Fireball for just WUBRG?
A: No. Fist of Suns lets you pay WUBRG instead of the mana cost of any spell, so you can play the Fireball, but if you're playing a spell that has X in its mana cost and an effect lets you play it without paying any cost that includes X, the only legal choice for X is 0 (Glossary,"X").