Ask the Judge, 11/18/2004
Rules Tip of the Day: It's been a while since it's been said, but there are still plenty of questions about this issue, so it bears repeating. Artifact creature is NOT a creature subtype. Artifact creatures with no subtypes will not get any bonus from a Coat of Arms.
Q: What happens if I have a regeneration shield on a creature (lets say a 1/1) and it gets shot by Frostwielder? Does it stay in play and use the regeneration shield or is it removed from game?
A: When a creature regenerates it never goes to the graveyard, so it will remain in play. However, if later in the turn this creature would go to the graveyard, it will be removed from the game.
Q: If I were to play two Glimpse of Nature during the same turn would I then draw two cards for each creature I'd play or would they not stack?
A: The delayed triggered ability created by each Glimpse of Nature will trigger when you play a creature spell, so you will end up drawing two cards.
Q: If Uba Mask is in play and you draw a card during the opponent's turn can you play it no matter if it is a Creature, Sorcery, Enchantment, etc.?
A: No. Uba Mask allows you to play these cards, but only if you can normally play them. You are not allowed to play Creatures, Sorceries, Enchantments, etc., during your opponent's turn, so you can't play them if they are removed from the game by Uba Mask.
A: Spike Drone does not have a triggered ability, it has a replacement ability that affects how it enters play. The Drone will enter play with a 1/1 counter before your opponent can even play Humble.
Q: I have Energy Flux and Goblin Welder in play and one Smoke Stack in my graveyard and one in play. Can I exchange the 2 Smoke Stacks, when the Engery Flux is on the stack, so that I don't have to pay to for keeping my 'Weldered' Smoke Stack.
A: Yes, what you want to do does work. This is because the Energy Flux gives the ability 'At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice this artifact unless you pay 2' to each artifact in play. If an artifact enters play after the beginning of your upkeep you don't have to pay this cost. And if an artifact in play that did have this ability trigger leaves play before the ability resolves you don't have to pay the cost.
Q: Forced March destroys all creatures with converted mana cost X or less. How does this interact with lands turned creatures that are still counted as lands?
A: Lands have a converted mana cost of zero, even when they are animated. Animated lands will be destroyed by Forced March regardless of the value of X when Forced March is played.
Q: I have some number of instants in hand. My opponent activates Memory Jar. I remove my hand from the game and draw 7. One of the 7 cards I draw is Cunning Wish. Can I wish for one of the instants that was removed by Memory Jar? If either I play the instant this turn or just discard it along with the rest of my Memory Jar hand at end of turn and it ends up in the graveyard, does it still get returned to my hand along with the rest of my pre-Memory Jar cards? What if the Instant I wished for gets removed from game for some reason (ie Planar Void) and when it comes time to return my hand that was removed, its sitting in the same RFG pile?
A: No, you can not use Cunning Wish to get a card removed from the game by Memory Jar. These cars are face down an there is no way to know what cards are there. You would be able to use Death Wish, and even then you'd have to pick one of the face down cards randomly. If you did get one of these cards with Death Wish and then played it, discarded it or it is removed from the game, then you still won't get it back when Memory Jar's delayed triggered ability resolved. This is because when a card moves from one zone to another it is treated as an entirely new object and effects do not follow it.
Q: I have Bazaar of Baghdad and Sylvan Library in play. If I have 7 cards in hand, then during my upkeep I activate Bazaar, ending up with 6 cards in hand, 2 of which I drew this turn, then I go to my draw step, and draw 3 cards, giving me 9 cards in hand. If I don't want to pay life I have to put 2 back from among the 5 total I've drawn this turn, correct? My question then is, how does your opponent keep track of which cards I've actually drawn this turn? If I draw 2 with Bazaar, shuffle up my hand, as good players are prone to do, then choose 3 cards to discard, my opponent doesn't know if among the 3 I drop are 1 or both of the cards I drew off Bazaar. Then when I draw from Sylvan, I could conceivably hold up 2 cards that I don't want, that were in my hand from last turn, claim they were my Bazaar draws, put them back on my library and keep all 3 of my Sylvan draws.
A: Because you have Sylvan Library in play and know that its triggered ability is coming up, it is up to you to keep the cards drawn this turn separate and discernible. Not doing so would be a Procedural Error. (Intentionally not doing so is cheating--Sheldon).
Q: Lets say I did not have Sylvan Library in play, but instead Vedalken Orrery. That way at the beginning of my upkeep I resolve my Bazaar draw, my opponent doesn't know that which cards I've drawn this turn is relevant information, and doesn't think to make me keep track. Then I tap 2 mana to play Sylvan Library as an Instant and proceed to my draw step, having concealed which of the cards that I've drawn this turn are already in the graveyard. How is this situation handled?
A: If you play Sylvan Library as an Instant due to the Orrery in the upkeep step knowing that the cards drawn that turn is relevant information and do not keep some way of proving that to your opponent what cards have been drawn that turn then you are being unsporting in the general sense, but in tournament Magic it is closer to a Procedural Error. Not keeping track is not quite cheating, but it is very near it (again, if you purposely mislead your opponent, then you are cheating). In a sanctioned event, I would give you a Warning, allow you to resolve the Library ability and watch you like a hawk.