Ask the Judge, 04/12/2005
Rules Tip of the Day: Creatures are affected by what used to be called ‘summoning sickness’ if you have not controlled them since the beginning of your most recent turn. It does not matter it a creature has been in play for several turns and you just gained control of it, it still will not be able to attack or to use one of its activated abilities with the tap symbol as part of the activation cost until you have controlled it since the beginning of your turn.
Q: Can you use the Shell of the Last Kappa to do infinite (aka BIG number) of damage through a spell like Blaze, Fireball, Consume Spirit, etc.? I wasn't sure since Spellweaver's Helix copies of spells make any "X" in the cost zero, but the shell says you may play a card and not just copy. Does this mean you can choose to make X any number?
A: No. Anytime you play a spell with an X in in it and you do not have to pay the mana cost, the value of X is zero. Also, when Spellweaver Helix's triggered ability resolves, you are playing a spell, it is just a copy of a card.)
Q: If I have multiple Legendary Samurai in play, will Konda’s Hatamoto pump +1 / +2 for each, or only once no matter how many are out?
A: The Hatamoto gets that bonus if you control at least one legendary Samurai. This bonus will not increase if you control more than one.
A: When these Dragon tokens comes into play the ability of each Warclub will trigger twice. You can arrange these triggered abilities on the stack however you want. In other words you can have each Dragon equipped with one Warclub each.
Q: Where does the original spell countered by Quash go? I ask because Quash is worded differently form the other similar spells and it does not explicitly say to remove the target from the game.
A: It is removed from the game. When Quash resolves you counter the targeted instant or sorcery first, so it will go to the graveyard at that point. This means that it will be in this graveyard when you search this player's hand, graveyard and library and remove all copies of the countered spell from the game.
A: Yes, as long as you choose to give the creature targeted by Razor Barrier protection from artifacts. This is because the source of this ability is the Jitte and not the equipped creature. Also, the Jitte does not put -1/-1 counters on a creature, it just gives them -1/-1 until the end of the current turn.
Q: If I enchant Vine Kami with Lure and my opponent has only one creature, which rule would count?
A: This single creature can not block this Vine Kami. That is because the Lure creates a requirement (must block if able) and the Kami's ability creates a restriction (can’t block unless there are two blocking creatures). When blockers are declared your opponent must try to meet as many requirements are possible, but he cannot violate any restrictions. So the Vine Kami’s ability will effectively negate the Lure in this example.
A: Yes, Damping Matrix does not affect activated abilities of creature cards that are not in play.
Q: I have Volrath's Shapeshifter in play that is currently Basking Rootwalla. I play the Basking Rootwalla ability. After that I discard a Rootwalla (that has exactly the same ability as Basking Rootwalla). Can I play the Rootwalla ability this turn, or is it considered to be the same ability as Basking Rootwalla has?
A: It is still a single permanent with that ability so it'll only be able to be used once. It does not matter that the reason it has the ability is because two different creature cards were on top of your library. This would also be the case if this Shapeshifter were a different creature in-between its two Baking Rootwalla incarnations.